Fine Arts

Wanda R Smith

wsmith@amherst.k12.va.us

(434) 946-9386 ext. 9556

The Fine Arts are an integral part of the core curriculum and provides students with unique experiences not taught in other core areas. The arts offer powerful tools for expression – tools for making connections between intellect and emotion, tools for bringing meaning and beauty into our lives, and tools for solving problems and communicating ideas. They are an essential part of human history and provide a foundation for understanding the present as well as the future.Studies in the arts foster perceptual awareness, cognitive processes, aesthetic literacy and life-coping skills. Participating in arts experiences enhances self-esteem, builds self-discipline, and reinforces societal values, such as cooperation, commitment, and working towards a common goal. Interdisciplinary arts experiences promote an artistically literate society and stronger understanding of oneself. Amherst County Public Schools strives to provide a rich and extensive curriculum for all aspects of the performing and visual arts based on state and national standards in the fine arts.

 

Our fine arts educators are:

 

AMHERST COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL

Melanie Coleman, Music/Choral Teachers, Email: mcoleman@amherst.k12.va.us

Mark Campbell, Music/Band Teacher, Email: jmcampbell@amherst.k12.va.us

Patricia Emmert, Drama Teacher, Email: pemmert@amherst.k12.va.us

Maryellen Johnson,  Art Teacher, Email: mjohnson@amherst.k12.va.us

 

AMHERST MIDDLE SCHOOL

Chris Badgett, Music Teacher, Email: cbadgett@amherst.k12.va.us

Jennifer Fitzgerald, Art Teacher, Email: jfitzgerald@amherst.k12.va.us

 

MONELISON MIDDLE SCHOOL

Sharon Childress, Art Teacher, Email: schildress@amherst.k12.va.us

Eunice Norgueras, Music Teacher, Email: enorguerasmherst.k12.va.us

 

AMHERST AND CENTRAL ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

Michelle Abbott, Music Teacher,  Email: mabbott@amherst.k12.va.us

TBA, Art Teacher

 

MADISON HEIGHTS AND AMELON ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

Crystal Garland, Art Teacher,  Email: cgarland@amherst.k12.va.us

Leray Wingo, Music Teacher, Email: lwingo@amherst.k12.va.us

 

TEMPERANCE AND ELON ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

Lauren Bailant. Art Teacher, Email: lbailint@amherst.k12.va.us

Martha Blanks, Music Teacher, Email: mblanks@amherst.k12.va.us